Buying Local

Dear Diary,

I live on the New Hampshire border and shop a lot in that state.  I go by this farm on my way to North Conway, NH.  I have stopped many times to buy their produce and have always admired their sign which is a take-off of the famous Grant Wood's painting, American Gothic.

 Buying my fruits and vegetables from local growers is something I am passionate about.  Not only because the quality is superb but I am adamant about supporting those small farmers.  Growing up, we always had a huge garden that my grandfather would tend all year.  My grandmother and Mom would preserve everything; it was called "putting food by".  I loved seeing all those glass jars on the shelf.

I had my first local sweet corn last night and it was so delicious.  Nothing like it in my book.  That and fresh, ripe tomatoes which I wait patiently for all year.  I also had some green beans. I was in a veggie paradise!  I am so fortunate to have such easy access to all this wonderful food.  It is a delicious time of year!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.