Big Butterfly Count 2016

Today is the final day of the Big Butterfly Count, although you can log your sightings for a bit longer.

Glorious weather today, so I decided to go back to Elford Hall Gardens, the most wonderful environment for these tiny creatures. There are superbly butterfly-friendly Echinacea, Lavender and Buddleia (of several sorts) plus enough natural wild space to encourage and support.

I was richly rewarded. At one point there was a white buddleia with a Painted Lady, a Peacock and a Red Admiral on one long branch. (My extra photo isn't of all three, but two varieties on one flower certainly deserves recording.)

Gatekeepers, Meadow Browns, Commas, Whites of all three main sorts and a Banded Demoiselle and a Dragonfly. I wandered round for ages.

My final choice was this beautiful tiny Common Blue, making the most of the Lavender. I hadn't seen a blue butterfly in this garden on any other occasions.

Thankfully, the butterflies have arrived, albeit a bit late. What a Sunday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.