Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Green Gables

Today on our tour we visited Green Gables,  the home that was used in the book, Anne of Green Gables.  The house was wonderfully decorated for the time period of the early 1900's.  Anne wandered around the area so I have a photo of her in the extras...she was "a little tired as she had to do her chores before greeting the visitors of the day!"     

For me, this has been a great stop..got a few miles in early this morning at 6:30 and then was able to walk in the forest around Green Gables.  I walked on the Haunted Forest trail and down Lovers Lane.  Extras are some of those photos!   I surely did miss my woods and trees as we have been mostly in cities.   Also in the extra is a mussel bed on an inlet of the Atlantic Ocean near Glasgow City, very Scottish area.  We visited a jam and jelly factory (with yummy samples, strawberry jam with grand marnier!..some of that got shipped home!)  The owner has a wonderful Scots accent..alas, he was not in his McNaughton kilt today.

Again today, the weather has been perfectly cool!   I could definitely get used to living in this climate!    The only thing I can complain about is I really miss my vegetables..I would love a tomato sandwich and I can't find anything like that up here!   Going out for supper tonight, I am hoping to find some stir fry veggies!

Tomorrow, on the the Cabot Trail of Nova Scotia.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.