life begins at...

By Sej

I heART ❤️

Today, has been a day of soaking up art & history with an early morning start at Kenwood House, where I'm looking to volunteer my services, followed by viewing two great exhibitions at the Tate Modern.

The first one was a retrospective of Georgia O'Keeffe, which I really enjoyed. Most people are familiar with her intricate flower paintings - but for me her New York cityscapes and time spent in New Mexico were really fab. I found the latter of particular interest, having spent two weeks in New Mexico on a yoga retreat back in 2005, I understand why the artist found this place to be special, as I felt it too. There is something different about the skies, mountains & air that make this place truly magical & spiritual.

We also ventured around the Bhupen Khakhar exhibition and I found this to be quite an eye opener!

"You Can't Please All", as this first ever international retrospective of the Indian artist's work is called, gave me a real sense of a man who used painting to present provocative themes about his own sexuality and battle with cancer.

But my favourite takeout of today was this great quote from Georgia O'Keeffe:

"I have been much photographed.... I am at present prejudiced in favour of photography"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.