Through the window

What a foul day it's been today - heavy rain and strong winds and my potted tomatoes and runner beans are rather shredded. Not a lot of shelter up here! I've only been outside once today and that was to stand some plants up once the wind abated, which it had, more or less, by about 6.30, and to fill up the seed feeder.

So my emergency Blip today is of our new 'bird feeding station' which is fixed to the back of a garden seat/shelter just outside the sitting room window. I'd tried feeders in various places over the last few months and they were ignored, the peanuts not touched and going mouldy. This time it appears to work and we've had quite a few birds on them, mostly blue tits and chaffinches so far. One of the local red squirrels made a brief appearance the other day and twice this afternoon I saw a flash of orange as he scampered along the rail of the decking.

Good to see the seed and nut levels dropping again! I'm afraid I had to take this picture through the window - the feeders are too close to the house for me to approach them outside.

I spoke too soon - the wind and rain have returned!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.