earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Wold Fell Bents

It dawned a beautiful day, without a cloud to be seen, but even with the sight of a blue sky to lure me out I found it hard to get going. However, once I did summon the energy to take the bike for a spin I found it hard to stop.

There's a bit of an issue with cycling in the Dales (and in the hills and mountains generally) in that once you make a critical decision at the top of a col you are inevitably committed to a long ride if you want to do a circuit. I get naturally drawn up the valley and keep finding myself at the top of Fleet Moss looking down the beautiful descent into Hawes. Once at the bottom there are quite a few options to continue the route but all make for a long ride. 

I realised that having missed out on the White Rose Classic this year I hadn't made my annual pilgrimage to the Coal Road and Dent Head. It's not often that I've ridden those climbs without being in an event. It was good today to feel free to stop and take some photographs for the record. It was also good to be able to pop out for a short ride on tired legs and clock up almost a hundred miles! I guess I'm getting reasonably fit. At least my legs are in good shape! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.