mef13

By mef13

A Special Place

I've been coming to Cowes in early August for more years than I can remember. Fact is there's nothing quite like this sailing town during the annual Cowes Week regatta; the oldest and largest annual sailing event anywhere.  
So much so that it has become an iconic feature in the British sporting and social calendar.
The week extends over eight days with a  schedule packed with competitive racing and providing immense satisfaction, and often disappointment for the 8,000 or so competitors who venture out on the water, racing and up to 100,000 or more spectators. Some come to watch the action on the water, others purely for the shore-side entertainment day and night.
I've walked the town's High Street at 11pm at night and you'll find it as bustling as it is mid-afternoon.
For the past few years I have taken the high-speed Red Jet catamaran ferry from Southampton to West Cowes whenever I can during the Week, and return at the end of the day by the same means. Yet the conventional ferry is possibly the more satisfying way of reaching the town, because you can sit on deck and be in amongst much of the sailing action, if not actually crewing a yacht and competing.
Beauty is of course, there is sailing activity in and around the town and the harbour throughout the year.
Many years ago I was commissioned by a national newspaper to be in Cowes for the sailing almost every weekend, and I suppose that is how my affection for the town began.
One thing for certain — I'll be back during this week!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.