Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Down in the deep woods

In a rather eccentric piece of geography I walked through West Wood on my way into town to do boring things like buy handtowels and collect prescriptions. This cedar plantation was looking sensational in the mix of sunshine and showers and although I got a nice couple of butterfly blips, in the end I couldn't refuse their invitation. I feel you could walk in and get lost and never particularly want to go home again (erm... well...).

I met a couple walking their dog. The woman told me that in the Times this morning there was a piece about how dire this year's weather has been for butterflies. Which we all seem to think is true. But a) there are plenty round here by now and b) the journalist had chosen to do his/her survey in the Olympic Park of all places, which I thought bizarre, not to mention incredibly lazy! We all know journalists don't like going outside London, but why pick a place subject to all that disruption? Dhurr!

Good luck to Team GB - and all Olympic competitors - again today. Looks like steam punk is postponed for me, so I'll be watching more of what's happening. And this is the first weekend of the Edinburgh Festival Fringe, so all the best, too, to lovely CheeryWild over from Ireland for their first EdFringe with 'Love All' and to Theatre Ad Infinitum bringing back 'Translunar Paradise' (hope the audiences remember their tissues for this one!). Have the time of your lives, boys and girls..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.