Rainshiner

By Rainshiner

Heaven & Hell

I hate the park when it is hot and busy.

I know I am meant to tell people I love taking our kids there but it is hellish to me.

I kept gazing wistfully at the sky - the huge, gaping, airy sky - waiting (im)patiently for my kids to show me mercy and ask to go home.

They are in their element of course but I am in purgatory. Crowded, chaotic and noisy I long to be alone. Actually that is not true. Not alone, just somewhere peaceful, calm, slightly more orderly.

I really didn't want to share a slice of my thin weekend with several hundred noisy strangers, their kids clambering carelessly over mine, the screechy local accents bellowing through me. I suppose there are some things we must do selflessly (and moan about it on Blip later.. )

As I look across the park, I am pining for the car to come by mind control and take me away from all of this.

Home safe now and it is wine o' clock ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.