Wearing purple...

By 60plus

"Leo Connolly, shipwright"...

...and possibly my Great Uncle!
We went back to the lowlight yesterday to get a shot of this little portrait, which I'd noticed in the "Shipyard Painters" exhibition on Saturday. I thought it caught an expression of my Uncle Bill, and my Auntie Joyce confirmed that my Great Uncle Leo did work in the shipyards at Wallsend. She can't remember what she had for lunch, but details from the past are still clear as a bell! The spelling of Connolly is also rather distinctive - it is usually written "...elly" - so I may have to track down the artist to see if I can get more information.
Typically, the exhibition was closed for the day yesterday, but we nipped back along there again this morning to capture the shot - a detail of the portrait for Tiny Tuesday. We also managed to fit in a delicious lunch on the quayside before we set off for home - paella with local fish yum!
Thanks to osuzanna for hosting this month!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.