Sporticus

By don_T

Iron Girl Race Day

Great day, perfect weather, feeling good and with my incredible IG sisters. 715 amazing women participated in this sold out event, of which i was 1 of 41 cancer survivors. We swam 500 m in choppy Lake Ontario, rode 20 km on our bikes and ran 5 km along the beautiful shoreline. This Subaru sponsored event was first class, lunch, drinks, goody bags and so much support and love. We hit the water at 9:15 and i crossed the finish line 1 hr and 39 minutes later. For a 1st time race i was absolutely thrilled with my results. I wasnt nervous, just so happy to be there competing. This was a long and difficult road with alot of speed bumps. I was 4 years later than planned in competing in this race, but that just made this accomplishment that much sweeter. Post race was spent poolside at our B&B with our good friends, then wine tasting and a lovely dinner on a local patio. A day i will never forget, my sweetie was my pit crew and was soooo amazing. I placed in the top half in my age group and in the entire event. Such a lucky girl!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.