Hampsfella

By KenPetch

Mint moth

I visited Elford Gardens yet again this morning; it is so lovely there and everyone is so friendly.  The nuthatches were performing regularly and the bluetits were enjoying a communal bath at the edge of the pond.  I had expected to use one of my nuthatch pictures for my blip today but have decided instead to use this mint moth (pyrausta aurata) which was feeding on the oregano flowers in our garden.  I think there must have been a recent hatching as there were a number of them fluttering around with the bumble bees and enjoying the oregano.  It's easy to think of moths as being rather dull compared to the more flamboyant butterflies but look more carefully and they are both pretty and fascinating creatures.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.