But… And… However!!

Stourhead, Wiltshire

“When Stourhead first opened in the 1740s, a magazine described it as ‘a living work of art’. The world-famous landscape garden has at its centrepiece a magnificent lake reflecting classical temples, mystical grottoes, and rare and exotic trees, and offers a day of fresh air and discovery.” The National Trust

My third delayed birthday event today, and a family outing to Stourhead in Wiltshire. The plan was to enjoy a picnic lunch, and then to walk the circular route around the lake. But… We forgot to pack the picnic! And… When we arrived at Stourhead one of the bridges over the lake was closed for repairs so the circular walk was impossible!! However, we were still able to enjoy the beautiful gardens and woodlands, take in the views across the lake to The Temple of Apollo (main photo), and for lunch I got to have a GF Chocolate Brownie!! :)

Whilst at Stourhead, we found ourselves in the middle of a wedding party. The lucky bride and groom were able to use the stunning setting for their wedding photos (see extra – I couldn’t decide if this should be my main photo or not, what do you think? I may switch them...).


(Sorry for not replying to your kind comments recently. Come the evening, I’ve just run out of energy. Will catch up with you as soon as I can…)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.