I could make a cake

.... I heard myself say today when I realised that a significant portion of the team would be in London on Thursday.  So at 11pm I was in the kitchen making a lemon drizzle cake. Its made but now it has to cool before I can take it out of the tin.  

While I was making it, being very careful to measure everything carefully I was thinking of my mum.  She made excellent cakes but she was able to judge the quantities by experience.  I have one of her recipes that she wrote down for me.  Its an easy cake as you melt the butter and add everything to the saucepan.  But when it gets the stage where you add fruit, it just says add fruit without a weight.  She of course just use to judge it by eye.

Miss you mum.

And the very special card, made by the very special young lady has arrived.  Maddie, a huge thank you from Murphy and I.

The building is the Heron Tower (officially 110 Bishopsgate) on the corner of Bishopsgate and London Wall.  It stands 230 metres (755 ft) tall including its 28-metre (92 ft) mast (202 metres (663 ft) excluding the mast) making it the tallest building in the City of London financial district and the third tallest in Greater London and the United Kingdom, after the Shard in Southwark and One Canada Square at Canary Wharf. And although I realised that you could see the Gherkin's reflection in it I didn't notice the clouds.  Don't let the blue sky fool you as it wasn't very warm.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.