A Rest Day

There is no event scheduled for the pied stilts today so they are enjoying having a paddle and a bite of seafood for dinner.

I will not be able to do more than a quick look at journals tonight. I have a weeks paid subscription to view the Essex Parish Registers  for the 1700s and 1800s in a mammoth attempt to find the common ancestors for three DNA matches and myself. The subscription runs out tonight - and I still have Burial Registers to search through. So, apologies for not commenting.

I find Burial Registers heartbreaking. So many children didnt make it to adulthood. Too many deaths are recorded as "Man unknown - drowned" or "Stranger died in fall from horse" and similar. I wonder if there were family waiting for these folk to come home, not knowing they would never see them again. Even worse is ''Baby found on side of road" - a not uncommon occurrence'

I had better get on with the search - scratch tea tonight.
.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.