Quinces

Today's the day ........................ to plan

I'm keeping an eye on these quinces in the garden.

They are particularly good this year and I'm hoping that I'll be able to make some quince and damson jelly - if I can find some damsons. Quinces look a bit like a small apple but they are hard and very bitter and you would not want to eat them raw. They do however make wonderful marmalade and preserves, as they contain lots of pectin - more than apples in fact. They also contain more vitamin C than lemons (up to 150 mg/100 g).

So that's the plan - but I'll have to be careful not to do what I did last time I tried to make quince jelly.  I completely forgot about them boiling away on the hob until that all-pervading burning smell wafted through the house.  I had to chuck the pan away in the end .......................... 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.