Tosser Trump

We came across this dog toy in Portland and of of course it had to be bought.  We are not fans of the big TT.

However having had now first hand experience of the politics in America my eyes have been very much opened, and it's not a good sight.

Trump is not considered the buffoon the rest of the world sees - indeed there is lot of positive media coverage.  Hilary Clinton, who we perceive as a rational choice is hated by a great many Americans who think of her as deceitful and careless. 

Overheard conversation at a baseball match "I hate both the the options really but there is certainly one that is worse than the other",  "Oh yes I agree - Hilary is a real snake".

But the media coverage had me open mouthed.  We were there when Trump addressed the national convention and made remarks about a Muslim father whose son had died fighting for USA.  I flicked between coverage on CNN and Fox news and was astonished how the two channels could focus on ENTIRELY different part of the speech and then bring in 'experts' and court 'opinion' on these parts and not even mention the other...not even in passing

In short, each channel presented a biased view that served only to affirm the views of whoever watched that channel in the first place.

I know this happens with printed media here, and I'm aware of it, but it made me so grateful for our BBC.  It might have it's faults but nothing NOTHING like the blatant extreme views offered up to Mr and Mrs USA.

Given the impact and influence of the November USA election I am now, in true Dr Who style 'hiding behind the sofa'.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.