Silk Museum

I happened to know there was a textile exhibition on at the Silk Museum in Macclesfield, so given we were there it obviously made sense to call in. The museum was very interesting and we really enjoyed it. Very interesting and informative and showed just what this country has lost in expertise. This is a photo of some of the punchcard that operated the jacquard looms. Being the musicians that we are we were wondering what they would sound like through a pianola?!

The exhibition was eye opening. I was fascinated by the descriptions that went alongside each work. Some of them I read multiple times and still didn't understand them. Some of the exhibits I could appreciate the workman ship in them but the piece left me cold, others I felt were emperors new clothes.
Find it quite encouraging as I now realise that I could create something of exhibition standard.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.