Penguin Droppings

By gen2

Spiked

Oh dear, yesterday's rusty pin proved to be low in popularity. I expected the previous blip to be unpopular as it was more of an emergency blip but I thought the anchor point would do better. I can't see today's bug appealing to many either but it is an interesting find for me.


Well, today has been poor weather-wise - windy, dull and showery. I was even struggling with close-ups.

One of the few that came out sharp was this shieldbug and it has to be my blip because it is a new one for me and has only recently spread into Scotland.

It is the Spiked Shieldbug - Picromerus bidens.

Most shieldbugs are sap suckers but this one is a predator, feeding on soft-bodied prey such as caterpillars, although it can still suck sap if prey is in short supply.

It was photographed on meadowsweet at SWT Reserve: Cullaloe Reservoir, Fife. OS Grid Ref. NT188877

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.