Lifted spirits

Having finished layout work at 11.30 last night, I was back in action early this morning finalising print-ready artwork, and had it all ready in time to begin upload to the printer's InSite system by 7.45 am. When the client had asked for distribution to be brought forward by the best part of a week, I'd told her that a realistic timing for me to get artwork to the printer would be this afternoon, so I'd actually managed to beat my own deadline by half a day.

I got a call to say that colour proofs would be ready for approval by mid afternoon. I decided to kill the proverbial two birds with the equally proverbial one stone and make an arrangement beforehand to meet one of the guys from the music group who worked (and still does occasionally) in Tower Records and occasionally does favours with obtaining CDs on special order. I'd contacted him a while ago about a set of Haydn's complete music for solo keyboard. He'd contacted me ten days ago to say the CDs had come in (all fifteen of them), but I'd been too busy to meet up with him. So I arranged to meet him at 2.00 and the printer at 3.15. The CD handover went fine, and then it was on to see the colour proofs. There was a problem with one of the pages, but apart from that everything was fine, and looked well.

I kept on thinking that I'd managed to work a minor miracle by meeting the client's unrealistic deadline, and I was feeling quite euphoric. Despite the fact that town was remarkably quiet, still there was a bit of atmosphere, and the Christmas decorations added to the general feeling of good cheer. I went home feeling content. I made the necessary corrections to the one age which needed attention, and spent the rest of the evening and night lazily.

NOTE: In case all this talk about deadlines and work makes no sense, it's all to do with a job I've been working on, and a bit of technical drama which made it all even more traumatic than it otherwise would have been. I've back-blipped the saga, beginning here. There's also another back-blip which is a bit on the happier side.

I'm still left with a bit of an unsightly gap in my blipping. This will be filled shortly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.