"Hey! This cup is empty!"

Dear Diary,

There is nothing more raucous and demanding than a hungry Blue Jay and Blue Boy made his displeasure of the lack of seeds in the tea cup clearly known.  I immediately hurried out to fill the cup with a nice blend of seeds.  I worry that he will knock the cup off the saucer one day.  He can be a bit clumsy landing and taking off.

Yesterday was unbearable.  Nearly 100F.  Even the porch was too hot to sit on.  I just sat in front of a fan all day watching the first season of Upstairs, Downstairs.  I retreated to my air conditioned bedroom early. 

Emerson woke me at 3 am with a mouse deposited on the bed, to his delight and my disgust.  Oh, I praised him mightily for his effort but I was grumbling under my breath.  He wakes me with a strong Meow and gleeful play as he bats the poor thing around.  Sigh...the joy of living in an 1851 farmhouse!

Today is supposed to be slightly cooler and perhaps a thunderstorm this afternoon which I am really looking forward to.  In the meantime, I am watering the new plantings this morning just in case the rain doesn't come.   ps...Matt pulled up the Wild Lettuce the other day as it was dying back and looking not so nice any more.  It was fun to watch it grow though!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.