Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Motoring along!

Maera has always been 'speed' on four paws. I don't just mean the running speed, which has consistently been very fast for a Cocker Spaniel, but in life she knows no half measures, apart from obedience.

Her behaviour is my fault. She was my first gun dog, I didn't have a clue what I was doing with her and submission is not part of Maera's character. Her instincts are so strong that it hasn't ever been a case of teaching her what to do. It's always been knowing how to stop her!
I'll never make a good trainer. I'm a soft touch and the dogs know it.

I was going through the photos I took this afternoon and just as Jessica Ennis won her Olympic gold medal, up came this photo of Maera, now aged six, belting towards me at full speed. She may never win any prizes but for me she is a little diamond.

Update: Oh WOW! What an evening for British Athletics. Three magical gold medals. I'm on the brink of tears for the emotions!



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.