Arkensiel Photography

By arkensielphoto

Glorious Twelfth

Today is the glorious twelfth and is a term used to refer to the start of shooting season for red grouse (Lagopus lagopus scotica), and to a lesser extent the ptarmigan (Lagopus muta) in Great Britain and Northern Ireland. The information was taken from this website. It has certainly been glorious here although I am not sure it is glorious for the game birds; it is still twenty-five degrees Celsius where I live at 1500 hours this afternoon.
 
My daughter and granddaughter visited this morning, my daughter works from home on Friday, so had to answer the phone several times while they were here.
 
Another day of doing not too much; I shall be watching more of the Olympics now that the athletics have started. I am not so keen on the swimming and water activities, but like all of the athletic disciplines.
 
Today’s picture is of another Peacock butterfly, feeding on the Buddleja; you can see the blue sky in the background.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.