SpotsOfTime

By SpotsOfTime

Sneezewort

at Thirlmere

Thanks to BikerBear for hosting Flower Friday with the theme of 'Technology'. 

The technology bit here is a bit hazy ... you'll have to take my word for it. In the distance is the Thirlmere dam. The reservoir was built in the 1890's and has a fascinating history. I came over for a walk to check out some conservation work I was involved with about 20 years or so ago. It's still pretty closed off after last December's floods but was good for a peaceful wander after catching up with some work this morning before going off for the week. Typically, having limped to the finishing line yesterday, I woke this morning feeling as though a steam roller had driven back and forth over me a couple of times. I set about trying to think what to get mum for her birthday next week. What do you get for the woman who has nothing, including any memory of it being her birthday or who she is? I ended up getting some bath stuff and a nice edition of Winnie the Pooh to read to her when I go down. I looked at other things but it is hard not to slip into infantilising ... looking at children's games. Even finding a card seemed difficult and whilst looking I realised that this time last year I was looking for one for dad to give her as well. He would have been very anxious to get it right.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.