Hummingbird Hawk Moth at the AOG

My assignment at the AOG's today was to photograph Team Hummingbird Hawk Moth in the speed event, an extremely tough assignment. Here you can see the winner who was by far the fastest in the competition. At least its eye is sharp and isn't that supposed to be the criterion used when focussing insects?


We have finally had some sunshine after a burst of autumn weather the last few days so there was a lot of activity in the garden today. I was absolutely delighted when a Hummingbird Hawk Moth visited my newly acquired summer lilac or butterfly bush. It has attracted a few butterflies already and lots of bumblebees but today this amazing moth (or maybe there were several) visited 3 times during the day. I have managed a decent shot once before so I was surprised how hard it was. They move so fast that even a shutter speed of 1/1300 wasn't sufficient. One of the shots (see extras) looks like the HHM deconstructed itself. The bush was in the shade and the last few shots were taken with a much lower speed due to low light. I got some really good bumblebee shots so my practice has paid off, but I need much more practice with the HHM's. I think I may move the pot out of the shade tomorrow so I can try for a shot or 2  in focus. 
Some more HHM and bumblebees here.
Thanks to dbifulco for hosting this event

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.