Friday Foto

By drmackem

The Golden Ticket

So today was my day at the Olympics and what a day.

Those in the UK will know how hard it has been to get tickets especially for the most popular sports. Having failed initially and again in the second tranche I'd given up hope. One night about 8 weeks ago I just looked on the ticket site to see if there was anything, anything. Couldn't believe it when I bagged what for me was the Golden Ticket. For me it isn't the Olympics until the track and field begins, and I knew this was going to be a special night and that either Jess or Mo would get a gold, and they were the two I most wanted to see.
I didn't dare believe that they'd both medal gold or indeed that Greg Rutherford would join the Golden party.
Jess just needed to finish within sight of the others in her final Heptatholon event but surged to win, the gap over 7 events to the rest of the field was commanding. I liked after the initial acclaim how all the heptathletes did a joint lap of honour and bow to the crowd.
Meanwhile the Long jump played out before, and during Jess's party and during the initial part of the 10000m, Greg jumped the 2 longest jumps of the night. More Gold.
The mostly partisan crowd(most other nations had become British by now) were caught up in it all and attention turned to Mo, now down the field, he gradually edged his way to the front end of the race then kicked, the crowd were in nothing short of a frenzy as he proved that he's the best racer over 10km in the world, this was a world class field that he was in. More Gold, the stuff of dreams.

I have no voice, no energy and no idea why I thought it would end up any other way, Danny Boyle is scripting the whole show isn't he?

I'll post a few of my other shots of today with tomorrows blip in the blip folio. Today I was torn, but this one of Jess racing to win when 3rd or 4th would have got her gold is the image I leave you with. (looking at it she's flying, or hovering which probably explains why she better than all the rest).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.