not too fast

A little while ago we saw Bill Bailey at the MK Theatre.  He did a routine about how we Brits typically reply to the question; “how are you?”.  I sink back in my seat with embarrassment at the realisation that my response to this question is exactly as he describes. 

Friend;  “how are you?”.
Me; “not too bad”.  

The implication of this is that feeling ‘bad’, or some degree of ‘badness’ is our default state of mind.

My current state of mind is preoccupied/obsessed with the speed at which my heart has been beating of late.  It’s been slower today - typically between 80-90bpm.  So I’m going to modify my response to queries about how I am, to reflect this.  When friends ask how I am, I can stick my pulse meter on my finger and say; “not too fast”.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.