Onwards and upwards....

By Yana1

Crocodile and Snakeskin handbags......

Whilst we were in Australia we visited a large Crocodile farm which also had snakes and lots of other birds and animals too....they all looked well kept and their pens were large and they looked ok.....I don't usually like these sorts of places but this one seemed to be a good example and the animals and birds looked very well cared for...well apart from the fact that the crocs were humanely killed and made into bags, belts, etc.....but then it is a croc farm and probably no different to any other farm where animals are raised for food.....

My husband bought a rather splendid croc belt and I looked at a few things but they were very expensive....so opted for a little keyring as a memento....but the price of the handbags in particular (several thousand dollars!) got me thinking about two bags that used to belong to my late Mom and which I never saw her use.....I'm not sure where they came from as the croc one was bought in Singapore which I know she visited more than once....the snakeskin one doesn't have a label and looks a little older so it may have been bought second hand....both are vintage and in very good condition.....
I'm going to start using them occasionally as they look beautiful and exotic so apologies to anyone out there who doesn't approve of using animal skins like this for their cosmetic value.....I have real furs too and use them in winter as nothing is warmer than a real animal!
It feels strange being back to our usual routine after our adventures in Australia...but comforting too....we have been reflecting on all the stuff we did there all week and what an adventure it was...truly the holiday of a lifetime and my sister and her husband were totally awesome to have given us so much...I am truly blessed with a beautiful sister...thank you....

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.