"A Murder is Announced"

Dear Diary,

A wonderful time at the theater seeing an adaptation of Agatha Christie's book, A Murder is Announced. It is a yearly ritual for me, to go and see the Agatha Christie play at the Barnstormers in Tamworth, New Hampshire. I knew, of course, "who done it", having read all of Christie's books, but I go to see how this little theater company stages the production and how the actors interpret the characters. They did an excellent job as usual.

Dinner afterwards was great too. There was a young family at the table next to me and I couldn't help overhearing the mother trying to teach the two young children a hand game, "Here's the church..." It made me smile. My grandfather taught me that same game 60+ years ago. It seems I am still surrounded by the spirit of the wonderful man! I leaned over and showed them how it is done and the children loved it. Last week I taught the great granddaughter of my friend Dotty how my grandfather taught me to press Queen Ann's Lace. Passing it on is a wonderful thing.

I may not have children or grandchildren of my own but it doesn't seem to stop me from passing on things. Someday I will pass on my library of Agatha Christie books to another generation...the beat goes on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.