the edges of my life

By raej

Street heat

I thought yesterday was riculously hot in our mountain valley - but a visit to Hanoi this afternoon made me rethink that. Even the Hanoians are wilting today....
Speaking of heat I came in today to buy diuretics in a desperate attempt to get the fluid off my swollen feet, ankles and calves - am sick of looking like the elephant woman ( plus it hurts :() - so after a day of ice packs and feet above my head am going after drugs..... Have another 8 day shift ahead of me then catching my mum and step dad in Bangkok for a few days so I WANT MY LEGS BACK!
So drugs bought and am in my favorite street side bar drinking what must be my first mojito for months!!!!
Funny if it wasn't for blip I wouldn't even know the Olympics are happening!!! This bar is showing the Olympics inside (in air conditioning) but its full of drunk tourists - I'm in the outside bit with the drunk ex pats :). Somehow being a tourist seems to bring out the worst in people.....it,s no wonder the Vietnamese have a poor opinion of us - first it's out of control soldiers.... Then the tourists.

Postscript : you think I'd know better .....I took the diuretics at the pub and discovered hey they make you urinate!!!!!! Bucketloads every 15 minutes!!! So by one hour into the drive home I have to call our translator and ask her to ask the driver to stop on a dark bit of roadside so I could wee :). I literally ran out of the car and squatted behind a wall on a building site. Only to discover I was flashing the builders who were squatting on the site.....Hmmnnnn yet another glorious chapter in my glamorous life .....(those fankles had better disappear tonight - while I nap between toilet trips :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.