The Way I See Things

By JDO

People Poems

It's very unusual for R and me to have a house full these days, but tonight we will be bursting at the seams. Both Offspring have come home for a slightly belated celebration of R's birthday; and Child Two has brought his band with him - not to help with the celebration (though they did create a lovely mash-up of last week's audiences at various venues singing Happy Birthday to You, and posted it to his FB page), but because they're part way through a tour.

If you've been paying attention you'll know that they played Sheffield last Thursday; on Friday they were in Cambridge; yesterday night they played a small festival in Northallerton, and tonight they did a set at The Picture House in Stratford. Tomorrow they're taking a day off; but on Tuesday they're in London, then Frome on Wednesday and Bristol on Thursday, before finishing in Brighton on Friday. At which point I would think that they'll need a holiday.

When I told Child Two over dinner that I would be taking photos at his gig, he said that on a scale of one to him noticing me doing it, he would prefer me to keep it down towards the one end of the scale. Cheeky so-and-so. After all I.... etc., etc. Anyway, I did my best to be unobtrusive - though that's slightly difficult with a huge DSLR, obviously - and to overcome the ghastly lighting. Sadly there was nothing I could do about the backdrop.

So - the large beardy one in the middle is mine - I'd like to give you an extra from when he was about six, blonde and adorable, but he'd probably kill me. On the left is Mr Matt Aplin - a fine keyboard player even when he forgets to bring his keyboard stand; and on the right Ms. Georgie Buchanan, who put in some gorgeous harmony vocals. This was taken during their penultimate song; they finished with my favourite, which is called Apology Song. If this kind of thing is your thing, you can keep up with them here.

All of which allows me to remind you that tomorrow is Mono Monday, and that the theme is Sound. The tag if you'd like to play is MM134.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.