Prushothaman

By Prushothaman

Why Pokémon GO had to Pokémon Go Away

We all know that Pokémon GO will result in the collapse of capitalism, or, on a more personal level, death, or at least being maimed and / or robbed of your possessions, and yet many people continue to play it anyway. Why?

I was wise enough to uninstall it after a two weeks, but it wasn’t a fear of untimely death or the prospect of a post-apocalyptic wasteland that provoked this decision.
In the beginning, Pokémon GO attracted me. I was a shameless Pokémon addict and was thrilled to transfer all my Pokémon the Professor and battle them in the 3D Pokémon Gym which i did once and lost some valuable members of the Pokédex!
To my amazement, i was not as addicted as some other players i know, so with ease dismissed calling it an addiction on my behalf!

The gratification I derived from growing my collection of creatures was undeniable; Pokémon’s formula was a narcotic for anyone with a collector's urge and an easily stoked sense of pride. I had always dreamed of a proper 3D Pokémon game.

I downloaded the app and started walking around the sickly green-blue world of Pokémon GO the evening of first day it was available with my nephew. And make no mistake, when I played Pokémon GO, I wasn’t walking around the actual world, i.e. Earth, I was walking around the sickly green-blue parallel world of Pokémon GO. Practically the only time I looked up from my phone was to react in fight-or-flight panic to the fearsome clatter and call of a motorcyclist almost breaking my legs today.

The most I saw of my surroundings was through the augmented reality mode that I used when a Pokémon appeared nearby that rather looked anemic.
There are many Pokéballs of hatred I could hurl at Pokémon GO. 
Over the past few weeks, it has been blamed for everything that ails humanity.

The game is absurd.

Although I find Pokémon GO to be an extension of everything that is wrong with smartphones, that isn’t even the reason I chose to uninstall the game. I chose to uninstall it because it simply isn’t very good. Admittedly, this is the first game of its type, and it’s a promising start. But that isn’t a reason to play it. In the original Pokémon games, you would get a starter Pokémon, and it would grow stronger alongside you; it would be a valuable companion throughout your journey. In Pokémon GO, your early Pokémon quickly become useless. The game has degraded the bond you form with your Pokémon, turning them into symbolic objects that are largely deprived of meaning, easily discarded and forgotten. This is the antithesis of what Pokémon should be about. 

Limply hurling Pokéballs at spectral Pokémon sucks.I read somewhere and heard from peers that in the original series of games, you have to combat the Pokémon you encounter and then attempt to catch them, once they have become thoroughly exhausted. 
While this is cruel, it’s also more fun. In Pokémon GO, I can’t fight with my Pokémon at all. They’re controlled by a computer, and the Pokémon battles are never between me and another human player.
Finally, what really turned me off to this game was the in app purchases.

After having uninstalled Pokémon GO, there have been no pangs of regret, no sense of loss. Not once I have opened my App Store to commit a subconscious search for the non-existent app. 

It’s gone, and I’m glad for that.

What are your current thoughts on Pokémon GO? 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.