Life through the lens...

By ValC

Summer smiles

I am so pleased with this begonia that I had to blip it before the flowers fade.
Always reminds me of my dad. When they moved to Cornwall, he grew begonias in the greenhouse, and over the years, won many prizes at the local shows.
I hope he would be pleased with this one.

At yesterday's Wine Club garden party, S. brought 30 books about wine , which had belonged to her late husband.
She said there was one for each of us, and I chose one of his first books, bought in 1976.
" The Big and Little Wines of France"
Written by Basil Woon, a journalist born in London, but who emigrated to America when he was 16.
Unfortunately he died, age 80, before this book was published.
I have just read the first chapter, which started with an old vigneron reminiscing about his early childhood,, As he stands by his village War Memorial, on the 11th November. Remembrance Day.
I know I am going to enjoy this book. Written with a love of wine, and the people who make it, and of course France.

It has been another beautiful summer 's day.
Temperature lower twenties, and no wind.
Did some washing and it dried beautifully.
Apart from that have sat out in the garden reading.
Didn't feel very energetic after yesterday!

Now watching the Olympics again. I hope they have plenty of energy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.