MV Loch Seaforth in Loch Broom by Beinn Ghobhlach

We made the short drive to Bridge House Art to have Apothecary7 there just around 9am for the first day of her Summer School course "Hidden Colour - Secret Light". Apothecary7 went in to get her favourite corner in the studio and I went along for company. It wasn't long before Eleanor the tutor (her house adjoins the studio) appeared and we had a blether and a catch up. We also met Eleanor's new assistant. When other students started to arrive Maeve the Deerhound and I set off for Ardmair. As I was driving up the hill out of Ullapool I saw the ferry coming in from the Summer Isles so I stopped to get a photo or two.

We got to Ardmair and parked then had a wander round through the caravan park and along by the little pier in the quiet bay at the other side which is my favourite spot for enjoying the view across the water to Ben Mor Coigach. It was sunny and clear. With a light breeze to keep the midgies away, perfect really. Then we came back round to the pebble beach and sat there for a while in the sunshine.

We came back to Ullapool just before 11am and walked round to The Ceilidh Place. They had the parasols up at the outside tables so I left Maeve to keep us a table and went in to order Cappuccino and a scone. It was so warm and sunny that we were glad to have the shade.

After coffee we went across to Ceard and went in to see Jan who was in the shop today. She loves to see Maeve. We had a 
chat for a while, two customers joining in the patting of Maeve. Perhaps that will help get a sale of something nice.

Maeve and I walked along Shore Street and then came back along to the house for a while. More shade required. Patio door open and a cool breeze coming in. The lady who owns the house was in the garden (their own house is adjoining) trimming a hedge so she stopped by for a chat and to see Maeve. This is the third year in a row we have rented on of their holiday cottages (they have two in the same street). Ideal for us.

In the afternoon Maeve and I went back to Ardmair. We had a walk round again, then went back to the car and I read my book for a while and listened to Van Morrison (Avalon Sunset then Hymns to the Silence I) on the car sound system. 

I collected Apothecary7 from Bridge House Art about 5pm. We went back to the house for tea/coffee then made a quick visit to the supermarket for things for dinner.

I expect the rest of the week will follow a similar pattern assuming this lovely weather holds.

DMC-LX7 f/3.5 1/1600 sec. ISO-80 18mm (35mm focal length 90mm)

Extras:
1. Ardmair Bay
2. Ardmair Bay, Isle Martin and Ben Mor Coigach
3. Ben Mor Coigach 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.