Life in Newburgh on Ythan

By Talpa

Good luck NASA!

In my formative years most of my knowledge came from Arthur Mee's 1o volume "The Children's Encyclopaedia". At that time we knew very little about Mars and some believed that they could see an icy polar cap whose melt waters were fed into canals to irrigate areas of vegetation out in the deserts, as illustrated in this drawing from Mee.

Tomorrow morning, God willing, and I do so hope that He is, the Americans will land Curiosity, a 1 ton exploratory vehicle, on Mars. It is hoped that the vehicle, and its on-board laboratory will carry out experiments for several years. What an achievement if they pull it off.

I count myself fortunate in the extreme to have lived through such interesting times.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.