Arachne

By Arachne

Selkie

I must have come across someone with a cold three days ago. As B drove us through beautiful country today I had only the energy to open my eyes from time to time it and go, ‘Aaah’. At the woods at Killiecrankie I did get as far as a viewpoint and go, ‘Aaah’ before I sat on a rock. Ever optimistic, we went on to Queen’s View and I staggered to the railings and went ‘Aaah’. It is very beautiful even though Queen Victoria, who thought the view was named after her (it wasn’t), said she could hardly see anything though the mist and then complained about the tea. We were much luckier with the weather than her and could see the mountains at Glencoe about 70 miles away.
 
We went on to see what’s claimed as the world’s oldest living tree, a 2-3,000-year-old yew, but so many souvenir-hunters took home chunks of it before it was protected by railings that its girth is nothing like as impressive as I expected.
 
The place we’ve found for tonight can put us up for two nights so I have a chance to slow down.

Black and white in colour 105

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.