Was It Really So Long Ago

By LincolnGreen

Lee Valley Canoeing

Who knew that standing up on a canoe would be quite so difficult? I put it down to my height and broad shoulders, giving me a distinct disadvantage on the centre of gravity front. We had great fun on our canoeing taster session, this time on the flat and level section of the water venue, lead by the superb Darren. I'd canoed many times before, not recently but it was like riding a bike to me. What I hadn't tried was larking about in canoes, playing football, swapping boats with the person next to me (happened to be Miss I) and standing up in the canoe. Having complimented me on my core (whatever that is) he pulled no punches in stating how rubbish I was at messing about!! During the canoeing football, I over-reached and fell in. During the boat swapping game, I got as far as sitting on the front of Miss I's canoe, which began to sink. She jumped ship onto my canoe, her vessel tilted and I fell in. During the standing up in the canoe in the middle of the lake game, well you can guess I'm sure. The inevitable happened. Twice.

Utter rubbish, but such fun. I'd do it again tomorrow, or perhaps the white water rafting instead. That'd be even more fun and no-one would be getting me to stand up on that one.

Back at the nearby campsite later, I caught the setting sun after a BBQ and a beer. How's that for an extra?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.