Breathe In And Out...

By ScotNatureBoy

The National Arboretum

Here's a backblip for yesterday as I wasn't able to find an internet connection on my phone last night. Leaving London after our week of Olympic participation and TV spectating, we made a side trip to the National Arboretum which is at Westonbirt in deepest Wiltshire (at least I think it is Wiltshire?). Run by the Forestry Commission, it comprises several hundred acres of planted woodland, effectively a mixture of native tree species and a huge collection of trees from around the world, a botanical garden where all the plant exhibits are enormous! I tried to capture the sense of towering trees by setting the phone camera's timer and laying it on the ground looking up. These pine trees provided the effect I was seeking! Tiny ant-like human looks up in wonder at cathedral of conifers! Go out today and touch a tree. Hug it if you feel like it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.