Summer Bounty

Dear Diary,

A visit to my local market that sells their own farm's produce is a weekly ritual for me.  The store was opened by the Mennonite community and they also have a wonderful bakery to accompany their fresh veggies.  Mid-August is the peak time for gardens around here and I can't get enough of it.  This big basket of summer goodness cost less than $10.  I am so fortunate to have access to such glorious and inexpensive produce.

We got some much needed rain last night and cooler weather too.  Such a relief from the horrible hot drought.  We need several days of it but it is not to be.  I just have to be sure my little ones outside have plenty of fresh water and seeds.  We'll make it through.  My heart breaks to read about all the suffering across the country with floods and fires.  There seems to be no end to the bad news.  I am so thankful for our blessings, like this basket of wonderful vegetables.  Be thankful for the little things for a life is built from little things.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.