St Cuthbert's

For obscure reasons I had a ticket for a lunchtime Fringe show, some Bach cello suites being played in St Cuthbert's kirk below the castle. D was off to Kirkcaldy again - he just can't keep away. ;-) I was joined on the no 36 bus for part of the journey by another blipper, on his way to meet some dangerous women.

The cello playing was fair to middling, but the acoustic was glorious and the light in the kirk was fabulous. I'd never been inside St C's before - it features extravagant use of marble in a variety of colours. Almost, ahem, Romanesque in character.

I then made a lightning dash through town, managing (mostly) to avoid the seething hordes (Rose Street v useful for this). At last I managed to get my watch battery replaced. I also popped into Jenners to look for something in their haberdashery dept. This had not only moved since I last visited (from near the top of the building to the basement) but had become much reduced in size and had signs everywhere saying it was closing down and everything was 50% off. Hmm.

Liam and his paddling partner Jon did really well in their semi-final. Final tomorrow, I think!

Edit: After posting this I remembered  a surreal little tableau that I'd glimpsed on Rose St - four Chelsea pensioners sitting at a table outside a pub, hats off but uniform jackets on, enjoying a pint in the sunshine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.