Costa Rica Adventure...Just Passing Through

Traveled from San Jose to Tortuguero this morning. The final hour of the journey was by boat because there are no established roads into Tortuguero. Went on a Turtle Watch this evening. By the light of an almost full moon we watched five different Green Sea Turtles haul out of the Caribbean Sea, dig their nests, lay their eggs, cover those eggs and head back into the water. Watching all of this was amazing for us and exhausting for the turtles. Since no photography was allowed I can't share any images with you. However earlier in the afternoon I was tracking a bird whose call I kept hearing but I couldn't spot the bird. While I was searching, a large raptor flew low over my head and landed on a limb ahead of me. I was able to get three shots before it winged away. Later I was able to identify it as a Common Black Hawk, juvenile. I never did get a clear photo of the the bird I originally heard. Would love to share more with you but I've got a 5:30 am boat to catch. We are spending the early morning cruising some of the Tortuguero National Park's canals searching for...whomever and whatever is up that early! hahaha...more later :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.