A "short" walk

After a couple of days off - and possibly quite a lot of exercise (went for a 10Km run on Saturday after the guests left, and the Coledale horseshoe yesterday), Thought a gentle walk with a couple of new Wainwrights would be fine today. Set off from Grasmere to to Steel Fell and Calf Crag (pictured), one of the boggiest walks ever - on the internet, the walk was described as "4" on a bog rating from 1 - 4!

At Calf Crag, noticed that it didn't seem a huge detour to forget about Tarn Crag, but go to the next ridge and do High Raise and Sergeant man (I have done Sergeant man, but only in the winter) - I thought the extra [big] Wainwright sounded like a good idea, so off we went.

Completed the walk by passing Easdale tarn and descending back into Grasmere. Three new Wainwrights to the good. (181/214) A year ago today I'd just managed my 94th!

Checked the route on my mapping system when I got home - my "easy" day ended up as a 12 mile walk with over 3000 feet of ascent! Good job I didn't go for a hard walk!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.