Summer Children

For Mississippi children, school is back in session, but once the school bus drops them off in the afternoon, summer resumes.

I had the responsibility of meeting Bryce and Julia's bus a few days ago. I also had the pleasure of affectionate hugs and shared snacks. But the greatest joy was of all was witnessing the ease with which - after long hours of "being contained" at school - they resumed the freedom of summer holidays. I watched their relaxed and laughter infused play, and absorbed a bit of their freedom through my camera lens. This was regardless of a lens that kept fogging over in the humid air.

An extra is another of the children on that marvelous treehouse/play equipment put together by their father: my son, Vanja. Also one of Bryce hugging Capri, because of that face...that feeling...that deep and dreamy love of boy for dog.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.