Scoots, Shoots & Leaves

By TerriG

Doors and/or Windows #4: a famous house

Some of you might recognize this house from my portrait of Jessica a few weeks ago - it's prominent in the background - and some of you might even recognize it as a feature in Portlandia, the wacky TV show about Portland's weirdness uniqueness. I didn't realize it was on the show until I saw the sign in this window.

The house sits 1/2 block off of Hawthorne and, though I think it's a fun, quirky house, I wouldn't want to live in it. Besides the overkill on cute, it's right in the heart of the bustle that is Hawthorne, a vibrant district that can get overly rambunctious for my tastes.

Here's the episode it refers to. (People outside the US are generally unable to get the show, but try the link, it's a free TV site that I've been using for watching almost all the TV shows I want to watch -- also ad-free!)

Here's another full view of the house.

LARGE for detail.

P.S. It was 102 F/39 C here yesterday. Ugh. Today will be "cooler" - 95 F/ 35 C - and progressively cooler as the week goes on. So glad it's not one of those awful seemingly endless hot spells.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.