Three Engineering Marvels

Centre.  The Crane.  Iconic engineering heritage.and architecture.

Left.  The SSE Hydro.  Iconic modern engineering 

Right.  Look closer, and you can see a small red brick Rotunda.  

I must have passed this Rotunda, and the corresponding one on the south bank, many times and never really noticed them.  Today I noticed the south one was being renovated, and asked my taxi driver what it used to be.  He explained it was the building that housed the lifts for a vehicle and pedestrian tunnel under the Clyde built 100 years ago.  A vehicle tunnel.  With a lift!

Sure enough, Wikipedia confirms it and Google finds some fascinating images.  What an amazing thing I never even knew about.  Sometimes I am ashamed of my ignorance.

I couldn't resist sharing this image and fact, even though I already blipped in the STV newsroom - we got a behind the scenes tour as part of an event where we also met their CEO.  Fascinating stuff.  I've blipped the newsroom as an extra.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.