Blipmeet in Portland

What a great summer day! Six of us (five blippers and a partner) met at an air-conditioned coffee shop and talked for hours before heading out to Peninsula Park to take some pictures. This gorgeous child was romping around the gazebo. The women with her were wearing hijabs and taking selfies with their phones, and when I pointed to my camera and then to the child, they nodded permission and the little girl composed herself for me as if she had been doing it for years.

Soozaday asked, at coffee, "How do you know when you have a blip? What is it that tells you, 'This is the one'?" I think I said something vague about moments of interaction. I do often look for interaction between people who are unaware of me. In this case, it was the little girl's interaction with me that gathered up my heart and swept it away: her sweet shy willingness to be looked at, photographed. 

Extra: MisterS, SoozaDay, Mr. ExtraDays, ExtraDays, and LoisBiz. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.