Hidden message

I knew when I put them on they'd keep me pedalling, as long as I focused on their mantra.

I'm on a much missed van trip to Ingleton. Sadly without little dog although she is having a spa day. I'm saving my walking knees for special events right now, concerned a little bit about their fireworks, and getting my hill fix from cycling instead.

Today was a fix and a half, with plenty of fresh roads to boot. 

Sometimes, places are just so astonishingly beautiful and evoke so many emotions that my vocabulary cannot do them justice. 

That, is my 'planet feeling'. 
That, was today.

I set off up the solitude of Kingsdale to clearing skies. I'd remembered the steep bit by the trees from a ride years ago. It was still a steep bit! Particularly on barely warmed up legs. Despite the fact it seemed to go on up for a good while after that, the descent into Dent made the whole effort worthwhile. Not long ago, I had a recollection of a steep gated road but couldn't remember its location. Well, I found it. And my bike handled it far better than my old one did which had an inclination to keep going with the brakes on full.  I stopped briefly to chat to a lady with a gorgeous young leonberger and an older dog. She told me it was all down hill from here. (If only!)

I was already in fine spirits but the hours just kept on excelling themselves.

Dent was as quaint as usual and I headed on through to Sedbergh. It was then a fairly main but quiet road passing the velvet-draped slopes of the Howgills and the wonderfully changing landscape to Kirkby Stephen. 

I was ready for lunch. 
A gluten free cheese toastie, no less. Now that was a find! 

Next up, Tan Hill. I'm racking my brains trying to remember which of my old tours I'd done this on but still can't. I knew there was nothing desperate on it but was a little surprised, after doing much uphill, to see a sign pointing out four more miles still to go.

Tan Hill is wild and feels very remote.  The contrast in scenery today has been huge. After reaching the top of Tan Hill, I turned south to West Stonesdale. It was on this road that I found it hard to take in the stunning, stunning scenery. I stopped so many times for photos; I just couldn't help it!

Finding myself in Swaledale, I knew there was a little stinger ahead. I took the Oxnop Hill which got my heart beating simply reading the gradient signpost!

It raised my heart rate a touch out of my comfort zone for a few metres too many but then I was back into trundling mode and enjoyed another spectacular climb and descent over to Askrigg and then Hawes for coffee and cake.

Right from the start, it's been one of those days that you really don't want to end.  As usual, I've taken my time and that's been lovely. I did have a little blast once I was over the last hill and thoroughly enjoyed the run back to the van.

I took off my new turquoise cycling socks which have quirky yellow ducks around the ankles. They're fun. But it was the surprise message on the bottom of them that I've known would hoik me up those hills today with a grin not a grimace:

You're the one!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.