Edge

Total immersion in Charles Rennie Mackintosh and a growing awareness of the extraordinary Margaret Macdonald. We visited the reconstruction of their house (it was knocked down?!) and paid homage at Kelvingrove Museum and Art Gallery. I hadn’t realised how relatively recent is the appreciation of their work, though he clearly appreciated hers: ‘Margaret has genius, I have only talent.’
 
I was full of anticipation as we walked to Zaha Hadid’s Riverside Museum and was disappointed to see it. As if she’d said to an underling, ‘Engine sheds with different profile pitched roofs; creates sort-of a wave form where they meet in a semi-star; that’ll do.’ But, but – I found myself taking picture after picture of certain elements of it – inside, the curved stair with its sassy rail; outside, the windows reflecting cladding (extras).
 
We watched the sun set in the glass roof of yet another building with Mackintosh echoes (extra).
 
It’s been very hard whittling down my photos of our much-too-short visit to Glasgow but pride of place has to go to the city’s irreverent take on one of England’s Grand Old Men on a Horse.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.