stujphoto

By stujphoto

Lone Swan

It is rare for us to see a swan swimming in the open sea but this one has popped over from Seafield Pond to spread his wings after a full moon and a high tide. However the swan was just the harbinger of an even more unique event - canoeists in Belhaven Bay. It has only happened a couple of times in the nine years we have been living here. When I first spotted them they were way out on the sand banks but then they gradually made their way up to the river mouth. I thought there was a rather inexperienced canoeist with the paddle as it was a making a rather haphazard zigzag course. However when I came to look at the pictures on the screen I see it was a single canoe with a passenger sitting straddled across the back of the canoe.  I wondered why they had taken in so much water when they landed and up-ended the boat. It's a wonder they did not sink. (See extras for an image of this strange phenomenon)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.