Misty Moors

After a day of rain like I've never seen before, a quick trip to the moor this evening in search of rainbows and clouds didn't disappoint when I found ground mist and orange skies.

I had a migraine late last night and after a strange night of waking up on the sofa in a dazelike coma at 6am having taken industrial strength painkillers (I'd had a couple of beers as well before I knew the migraine was coming which probably wan't a good idea), I ended up going back to bed till early afternoon.

It was a shame because at 6am the light streaming through the blinds looked gorgeous and I did toy with the idea of getting out. Then I stood up. And fell down. And changed my mind...

It was great to wake up to such a reaction to yesterday's blip. I really wasn't expecting it.

Still feeling rough later I decided on a garden blip - the clouds were amazing and I was trying to get a hanging apple with epic cloudage behind. Then a wet tall yellow daisy thing, again with epic cloudage behind.

Then I heard this kind of rustling noise, really loud, like a mountain lion crashing through the undergrowth (yes I can use this as an analogy! I've heard it myself! On erm... TV...) I looked round and literally saw a wall of water like Niagra Falls heading right for me.

I'm not kidding.

I managed to get in the house just in time and within minutes there was a river running through the back garden. I think I saw a fish. Maybe it was the industrial strength painkiller drugs. But in my head I saw a fish.

Once in Kefalonia I heard this clap of thunder that was the single most loud thing I've ever heard. We were in an apartment and we hit the deck as we thought it was an earthquake. Then rain like I'd never seen came down. This was louder and harder!

Luckily there was no damage apart from a pile of earth that had been dragged away from the front garden. (Just this minute seen on the news that other bits of Bradford had so much hail it looks like snow!)

I did get some photo's but they couldn't convey the downpour so I left that to the news reports on BBC.

This evening I felt a bit better so headed to the moor and found this - although I now wonder if it's ground mist at all... or snow....

Thanks again for the faves, stars, subs and comments for yesterday. Hope to say thanks properly on journals soon (and for earlier faves etc - I'm about a week behind!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.